Washington Racing Hall of Fame-Class of 2018


AUBURN, Wash. (August 21, 2018) – Trainer Doris Harwood and jockey Juan Gutierrez head a stellar field of 2018 Washington Racing Hall of Fame inductees, Emerald Downs announced Tuesday.

Harwood, No. 1 all-time with 67 stakes wins at Emerald Downs, and Gutierrez, No. 2 all-time with 1,320 Emerald Downs’ wins, will be honored at the 16th annual induction ceremony before the races on Sunday, September 9.

Other 2018 winners:

Mustard Plaster, who defeated Kelso in the 1964 Californian Stakes and retired in 1967 as the leading earner in Washington history, is the 2018 Hall of Fame Horse. And the Penney Family, a racing dynasty spanning three generations and producing seven state champions, will be honored as 2018 Breeder.

In addition, Dr. George Todaro of Seattle will become only the 10th recipient of the Washington Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement Award. A world renowned medical doctor and research scientist, Dr. Todaro also is one of the most successful Thoroughbred owners in West Coast history, and also an original Emerald Downs’ investor.

A 16-member voting committee composed of media, HBPA, WTBOA and Emerald Downs’ representatives decided the winners from a list of four Finalists in each category.

Introduced in 2003, the Washington Racing Hall of Fame is co-sponsored by Emerald Downs and the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association (WTBOA). The inaugural class featured three inductees in each category, while subsequent classes have been limited to a single member in each category. In addition to the ceremony, a plaque honoring each member is permanently displayed in the Washington Hall of Fame on Track Level at Emerald Downs.

Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame

Horse: Mustard Plaster (2018), Noosa Beach (2017), Loto Canada (2016), Travel Orb (2015, Ropersandwranglers (2015), Chum Salmon, (2014), Delicate Vine (2014), Military Hawk (2013), Table Hands (2013), Hilco Scamper (2012), Rings a Chime (2012), Pataha Prince (2011), Firesweeper (2011), Biggs (2010), Sparrow Castle (2009), Belle of Rainier (2008), Peterhof’s Patea (2007), Sir William (2006), Smogy Dew (2005), Turbulator (2004), Saratoga Passage (2004), Captain Condo (2003), Chinook Pass (2003), Trooper Seven (2003).

Jockey: Juan Gutierrez (2018), Jack Leonard (2016), Gary Boulanger (2015), Ricky Frazier (2014), Gallyn Mitchell (2013), Paul Frey (2012), Vicky (Aragon) Baze (2011), Joe Baze (2010), Lennie Knowles (2009), Larry Pierce (2008), John Adams (2007), Albert Johnson (2006), Basil James (2005), Russell Baze (2004), Gary Baze (2003), Ralph Neves (2003), Gary Stevens (2003).

Trainer: Doris Harwood (2018), Marion L. Smith (2017), Larry & Sharon Ross (2016), Wesley Ward (2015), Ben Harris (2014), Howard Belvoir (2013), Wayne Branch (2012), Tim McCanna (2011), Bill McMeans (2010), Kathy Walsh (2009), Glen Williams (2008), R.H. McDaniel (2007), Frances Keller (2006), Bud Klokstad (2005), Charles Whittingham (2004), Allen Drumheller (2003), Jim Penney (2003), Tom Smith (2003).

Breeder: Penney Family (2018), Rick & Debbie Pabst (2017), Robert L. Edwards (2016), Herman Sarkowsky (2015), William C. & Barbara Nelson Jr. (2014), Czech-Mate Farm (2013), George Newell (2012), Grousemont Farm (2011), Les Turner (2010), Wilbur & Marianne Stadelman (2009), Frank Brewster (2008), Dan Agnew (2007), C.J. Sebastian (2006), Guy & Barbara Roberts (2005), George Drumheller (2004), Herb Armstrong (2003), Jerre Paxton (2003).

Lifetime Achievement: George Todaro (2018), Mark Dedomenico (2017), Robert Geller (2015), Ralph Vacca (2013), Jack Hodge (2012), Karen & Mickey Taylor (2011), James Seabeck (2010), Pete Pedersen (2008), Ron Crockett (2004), Joe Gottstein (2003).

2018 Washington Hall of Fame Finalists

Horse: Georgie Drum, Hank H., Mustard Plaster, Sirde
Jockey: Basil Frazier, Juan Gutierrez, Richard Hollingsworth, Jennifer Whitaker
Trainer: Doris Harwood, Cecil Jolly, Frank Lucarelli, Ruth Parton
Breeder: C.F. Flower, Maurice McGrath, Penney Family

Eligibility requirements: Any Washington-bred or any horse that has raced at least twice in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame. Any jockey or trainer born in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, or any jockey or trainer who has competed in at least five years in Washington shall be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame.