$50,000 Muckleshoot Derby-Nominations

Sippin Fire, owned by How We Roll # 4 and trained by Steve Bullock


AUBURN, Wash. (July 22, 2018) – Sippin Fire, winner of two straight stakes, tops the list of 18 nominations to the $50,000 Muckleshoot Derby on Sunday, July 29.

At 1 1/8 miles, the Muckleshoot Derby is the longest stakes of the season for 3-year-old colts and geldings, and first leg of the Northwest Triple that also features the $150,000 British Columbia Derby at Hastings Racecourse on Saturday, September 8, and the new $100,000 Getaway Stakes at Emerald Downs on Sunday, September 23. A $100,000 bonus is offered to any horse that sweeps all three races and a $10,000 bonus for finishing in the top three in all three races.

Sippin Fire has risen to the top of the local 3-year-old division, rolling by 3 ½ lengths in the Coca-Cola Stakes at 6 ½ furlongs and 2 ¾ lengths in the Seattle Slew Stakes at 1 1/16 miles. A Washington-bred by Harbor the Gold-Bahati, Sippin Fire earned a 74 Beyer in the Coca-Cola and a career-high 76 in the Seattle Slew.

Weekend Wizard is the top sophomore at Hastings, taking two of the first three stakes including a huge victory in the July 1 Chris Loseth Handicap. A British Columbia-bred by Rosberg-Gosailgo, Weekend Wizard ran 1 1/16 miles in 1:44.11 and earned an 88 Beyer—a career-high by 17 points.

Trainer Blaine Wright, first and second with Riser and Aqua Frio in last year’s Derby, nominated Apalachee Bay, Argosy Fleet and Trump Itz to this year’s race.

Weekend Wizard

$50,000 Muckleshoot Derby, 1 1/8 Miles, Sunday, July 29
Horse. . . . . .Owner. . . . . . Trainer
Another Gem (3/KY) White Diamond Syndicate Vince Gibson
Apalachee Bay (3/KY) Peter Redekop BC Ltd. Blaine Wright
Argosy Fleet (3/KY) Peter Redekop BC Ltd. Blaine Wright
Boundary Bay (3/WA) N American Thoroughbred Racing Co Sandi Gann
Check and Raise (3/KY) W. Quinn Chin Bob Meeking
Cody’s Choice (3/WA) Pam Gibson & Maureen Hallett Vince Gibson
Elliott Bay (3/WA) Rising Star Stable II Howard Belvoir
Freiburg (3/KY) Ramer Holtan Jose Navarro
Hey Sequoia (3/BC) William Bridges Tom Wenzel
Mighty Mick (3/BC) Mohamed C. Khan James R. Brown
Schoenhardt (3/KY) M Dedomenico & Muddy Waters Stables Mike Puhich
Shivermetimbers (3/KY) M Dedomenico & West Point Tbreds Mike Puhich
Sippin Fire (3/WA) How We Roll #4 Steve Bullock
Smoothee Lee (3/KY) Walker, Maguire or Lucarelli Racing Frank Lucarelli
Take Charge Deputy (3/CA) Emilie Kubinova Rosales & Tommy Boyer Jorge Rosales
Trump Itz (3/WA) John & Janene Maryanski & Riverbend Farm Blaine Wright
Weekend Wizard (3/BC) Riversedge Racing Stables Ltd. Craig MacPherson
Wheel Rally (3/WA) Allaire Farms Bob Meeking